Destiny: The Taken King - What to Expect

Destiny: The Taken King is the next big DLC confirmed for Bungie's latest title. A dark shadow has fallen over our worlds. Oryx, The Taken King, is hell-bent on vengeance and is raising an army of corrupted “Taken” forces by manipulating the Darkness itself. You must find a way into his impenetrable Dreadnaught ship to defeat The Taken King before he and his dark army consume our civilization and bring our solar system to ruin.

Destiny: The Taken King, the next adventure in the first person shooter Destiny universe, introduces a new story campaign and quests, new enemies to fight, new locations to explore, new Strikes and Crucible maps, a new Raid that will put players to the ultimate test, and more. To stand up to the challenge, players will have access to three new devastating Guardian subclasses, and a massive arsenal of weapons, armor, and gear.

To battle back the Darkness and the Taken army, players will get brand new subclasses with new supers. Warlocks will now harness the power of an electric storm, Hunters will carve a bow formed from gravitational void energy, and Titans will summon a flaming hammer that can sear their adversaries from a range or deliver a devastating melee impact. More on that below.

A massive Hive Dreadnaught ship looms in the rings of Saturn. The Dreadnaught's massive, impenetrable hull is feared to house a dark labyrinthine lair. Pathways to ancient Hive who have pledged their loyalty to Oryx and use their inscrutable Shrines to empower and protect their King. You will be the first to venture within. You will be the first to face them. 

Oryx, The Taken King has arrived in our solar system, bringing with him a corrupted army to exact revenge on the Guardians who destroyed his son Crota, and to consume our worlds. Arm yourself with newfound abilities, weapons, and gear. Defeat the Taken hordes. Make your way aboard the Dreadnaught, and face Oryx himself within his inner sanctum.

Adventure through new Strikes featuring powerful bosses, follow more questlines that lead to powerful, new gear and brave the next major Raid to test six-player Fireteams. Continue leveling in Destiny and fill your arsenal with brand new weapons and armor. Find and collect new, powerful Exotics.  

Some scholars say that it was the vile “children” of Oryx that first crawled from the ashes, post-Collapse.  His brood grew quietly, but quickly enough, spawning armies of Hive loyal to their King deep within the caverns and shadows of our worlds. Among them was Crota, the god-Knight whose offspring poisoned our Moon.

Crota and his army would have infected the Earth were it not for the efforts of Eris Morn, and the Guardians who heeded her warnings. Now, Crota is dead – body and soul extinguished by your hand. Oryx, armed with a dark power beyond anything we’ve yet to face, is coming to claim his revenge.

Oryx wields the ability to control a twisted army of vile corruptions known as the taken. These new enemies have been wholly consumed by the Darkness, bodies and minds twisted to serve their king. Now they are bent to a singular purpose, our eradication.

Below is a breakdown of each of the new subclasses for the Warlock, Hunter and Titan.

Titan: Incendiary siege engines of war, Sunbreaker Titans hammer and shatter their enemy’s ranks from afar, raining cleansing fire down upon fortified defensive positions. You will be able to throw the hammer at your foes, as well as strike them down.

Super: Hammer of Sol - Summon a flaming hammer and wreak destruction down upon your enemies.

Thermite Grenade - Grenade explosion sends a line of fire toward your target.

Sunstrike - Ignite your enemies with a heavy solar strike.

Fire Keeper - Hammer of Sol lasts longer and you gain an overshield while standing near a Sunspot.

Super: Stormtrance

Chain Arc Lightning from your hands.

Warlock: Stormcallers directly manipulate Arc energy, focusing body and mind to channel and chain the lightning. Their enemies are given fair warning— flee from battle, or face the storm.

Storm Grenade - This grenade calls down a localized lightning storm.

Thunderstrike - Deliver an electrocuting melee strike at extended range.

Perpetual Charge - Getting a grenade kill recharges your melee. Getting a melee kill recharges your grenade.

Hunter: All Hunters master the frontier, but none claim territory quite like a Nightstalker. Shadowshot binding may seem more merciful than gun or blade… until the feeding frenzy begins.

Super: Shadowshot - Tether a large group of foes to a Void Anchor, slowing and suppressing them for your Fireteam.

Voidwall Grenade - Grenade explosion creates a horizontal wall of burning Void Light.

Smoke - Throw Smoke to slow and disorient those within its cloud.

Shadestep - Gain an evade to avoid damage.

A new level cap will come alongside the expansion. You will now be able to go as high as Level 50 with your guardians. They will be stronger than every before. Phogoth won't know what hit him (probably that new Titan hammer)

"Mayhem" is a new PvP game type that allows guardians to recharge their super abilities with lightning speed. It'll be super vs super. 

Another new type is "Rift" which is basically capture the flag. You capture the enemies spark and bring it back to your rift. Skill points will apply for guardians who backflip and dunk the spark in to the rift. 

Alongside a series of strikes, there will be new enemies and rooms built to make things harder for you. The rooms will adapt and force you to change your path as you move through them.

There will be a pre-order bonus to pick up containing a series of Suros themed weapons and items for your character. 

Another announcement made by Bungie has confirmed that there will be class specific weapons. The armour already is done like this in the game, but now that gun you collect may only be for a Titan, Warlock or Hunter. 

The Taken King will be released 15th of September.