Battlefield 4 Multiplayer Modes Revealed


DICE has today unveiled Battlefield 4's seven multiplayer game types, which includes some old favourites like Rush (24 players) and Conquest (for up to 64 players on next-gen, 24 on current), as you'd expect, as well as classic Team Deathmatch (20 players), Squad Deathmatch (16 players) Domination (20 players) and two new modes called Obliteration and Defuse.

Obliteration is described by DICE as a "Battlefield Moments Generator", in which players make a "mad dash" to vehicles on foot, before speeding towards one of three opposition targets on the map to deliver a bomb.

Each team will compete to grab the bomb, arm it at the objective and detonate it. The first team to destroy all three targets on the map, wins. This mode supports 24 players on current-gen and 32 on next-gen.

The 5v5 game mode Defuse is described as "highly competitive and lethal", with each player possessing a single life that can be snuffed out in a nano second. Focused on close-quarters combat, a game of Defuse is won when one team eliminates the other or when a team arms and detonates a designated military objective, like the M-COM stations in Rush.

Also, DICE has confirmed Battlefield 4's ten multiplayer maps with their full names:

  • Siege of Shanghai
  • Paracel Storm
  • Zavod 311
  • Lancang Dam
  • Flood Zone
  • Rogue Transmission
  • Hainan Resort
  • Dawnbreaker
  • Operation Locker
  • Golmud Railway

Battlefield 4 is out on October 29th in North America and November 1st in Europe for current-gen, before coming to next-gen platforms on launch day.